Cooling bill assistance in Northeast Arkansas.

Applications are accepted every year for the Summer Regular and Crisis Low-Income Home Energy Bill Assistance Program. Crowley’s Ridge Development Council Inc. provides the resource for many counties in Arkansas, including Craighead, Cross, Jackson, Poinsett, and Greene counties. Funds can be used to pay for air conditioning bills, provide fans, general cooling expenses, and even such items as repairs to HVAC units.

Applications for the programs are usually accepted in the June timeframe. The application periods are usually staggered, meaning that some counties are “open” for applications before others. Generally Crowley’s Ridge Development Council Inc. will start taking applications for the Summer Cooling and Crisis Programs for Craighead and Jackson counties first. Then shortly thereafter the application process for Poinsett, Greene, and Cross counties will start. Applications will be taken first from seniors and the disabled in the community. Any type of financial assistance that is paid out is for electric bills only.

Even if you receive other forms of cash assistance from the federal government Winter Program or LIHEAP, you may still apply for additional assistance from the Summer Program. Both the Crisis and Regular components of the summer cooling bill program run at the same time, so there is some flexibility in what can or can’t be paid for. The non-profit CRDC will help with paying regular bills, offer emergency assistance for shut-off notices and can also help those Arkansas families who are already disconnected. Money and components of the program can also pay for fans, air conditioning units, or repairs/tune ups too.

There is an extensive application process in place, and proof of any need or hardship is required. The documents that are needed in order to apply for help with cooling bills include the previous month’s income for everyone in the home 18 or older. This includes, but is not limited to, Transitional Employment Assistance TEA; check stubs; Supplemental Security Income, SSI; Social Security Administration, SSA; child support, unemployment income. To apply for the crisis program, an applicant will also need to bring their regular electric bill and electric shut-off notice. CRDC cannot copy the documents, so please bring your own originals or copies.





Following is a list of days and office locations of where the utility and cooling bill assistance applications will be taken from. However it is possible for the locations to change from one year to the next. For more information on how to get assistance, call or visit your local office below. Or find more utility bill assistance programs in Arkansas.  Crowley’s Ridge Development Council Inc. office locations include:

  • Craighead County. Cooling bill assistance can be applied for at 2401 Fox Meadow Lane, Jonesboro, 935-8610.
  • Poinsett County. Address is 200 Industrial St., Marked Tree, telephone number is 358-1200.
  • Cross County families can apply at 1304 Falls Blvd., Wynne, phone number 238-1229.
  • Jackson County. Office location is 2000 McClain St., Suite C, Newport, dial 523-5474.
  • Greene County. 144 Linwood Drive, Paragould, Call 239-3531.





By Jon McNamara

“Related Links” are listed below.




Contact Us

About Us


Privacy policy