Joncmac author – biography (Jon McNamara)

Hi, my name is Jon McNamara, but I am also sometimes called “Chuck” by friends and family. I am the main author of the needhelppayingbills blog and my posts will be shown as Joncmac. I wrote the vast majority of the content on the blog (probably over 90%), and even those articles that I have not written myself I have modified/approved.

Much of my personal information is scattered across this blog, but here is a quick recap for this biography page. Here is also more details about me, Jon McNamara, on the main website.

Experience: Some of the highlights are below.

  • Over 15 years in the corporate world in positions of increasing responsibility, up to director level of a publicly held company.
  • Over 12 years’ experience in launching businesses.
  • Over 10 years in helping low income families as well as those who are struggling financially.
  • I have partnered in one capacity or another with charities, non-profits, community action agencies, community clinics with their medical professionals, and other social service type groups over the last 10 years to help the less fortunate.
  • Almost 30 years in researching and investing in stocks.
  • Involved with/Partner of PFNI Inc., which is an international operation for billhelp.UK.
  • Years of experience in helping families with debt reduction, providing financial tips, suggestions on living with means, and other basic financial advice.
  • Several years of volunteer work at non-profits and charities, including dog rescues and non-profits that help people launch or improve their business.
  • Find more details on Jon McNamara’s Linkedin profile.

Interests/Hobbies: Some of them are below.

  • Going to the gym – weight lifting, jogging/running.
  • Walks on the beaches and in nature….watching the sunrise.
  • Nice meals out.
  • Reading
  • Movies, video games.
  • Travel…see new sights, cultures, food, and the country as well as world.
  • Pets, and my dog Maxie!
  • Helping people and giving back, with a focus on launching businesses, investment advice, needhelpingpayingbills.com, etc.
  • Generally, living a simple life.

More detail:

I was born in the mid 70s. My father left when I was about 13, but he was mostly checked out/missing for years prior to that. He never paid a cent in child support, my mom was involved in raising 6 kids prior to him leaving so she was not “employed” in the job market, even though she had maybe the hardest job in raising 6 kids.

She was thrust back into the workforce, mostly at lower paying jobs, often working evenings/nights, etc. She struggled to pay the bills, but we made it with the help of my grandmother Bop. So I can somewhat relate to the struggles of being raised by single moms.

I have been working since about 9 or so. I started as a paperboy and did that until probably 17. I did it ever day after school, Saturday and Sunday at 5am. Boy that can start to build discipline. At 15 I started working at Wegmans as cashier/customer support/cart pusher, etc. So I was a 15 year old kid with 2 jobs. From about 15 or so I started investing and when I was 17 I coded my first software program.

During school and growing up I was often made fun of and picked on; I guess what they call bullied today. I was introverted and also socially awkward, and tried to use that as motivation throughout my life.

I went to a 4 year college, paid my way (with some help from a Wegmans scholarship, government aid and my mom). I worked almost full time through my 4 years at school, and held 1-3 jobs at a time throughout school. After graduating I entered the corporate world, and worked my way up to be the youngest director at a publicly held company (Spectrasite Communications).

I made my first million dollars by the time I was 24, through investments and the magic of compounding from stocks, etc. I bought as youth. I went from zero dollars to a million…no one gave me a cent of that. But I soon lost a bunch of that. It took me a few years to make it back, and the portfolio grew from there.

In 2007 I started my own internet business. It focused on website development, content creation, advertising. I worked on it everyday before and after work at my corporate job as well as on the weekend. I probably worked 80-90 hours per week at first, and continued at close to that pace until about 2014 in which I had a panic attack, mostly from the work. At that time I mostly retired, and am living the FIRE (Financial Independence and Early Retirement) life today.

Needhelppayingbills.com spun out of that business, and over the years we have provided information, resources, and support to millions of Americans. Heck, even if we helped just a few kids get a meal, or a senior can a medicine they need, that in itself is making a difference.

I am still introverted and enjoy peace, quiet. I continue to try to focus on the small things in life. As many of these entries on the blog indicate, I strongly believe that people can greatly influence their outcome in life. It takes dedication, commitment, hard work, overcoming fear of failure, accountability, and more…but I think it is possible for people to grow, learn, and become successful in whatever they choose.

As always, to our thousands of blog readers, feel free to write in with comments, questions, feedback. We are not on email 24-7 or our phones or checking email hourly, but it is checked at least one time per day. The email is info@needhelppayingbills.com or joncmac@needhelppayingbills.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *