College loans overdue

Help with eliminating and paying debt, including credit card debt and medical debt.
LtDan
Antispam check: Dog
Antispam check: two
anti spam: Blue

College loans overdue

Post by LtDan »

This fall, I only have one dream. To go to school. That’s it. But that’s a lot to ask for these days. I am a 27 year old young adult who wants nothing more but to start her life. I will be 28 in a couple months, still 2 years away from the age I need to be for the government to allow me to be independent. No matter how independent I am now, I still can’t file a FAFSA for school without my parents tax information. Why is this such a problem for me? It has been 3 years. Since I graduated high school, I have been hoping and praying that my parents would file their taxes. Unfortunately, they just haven’t. Yes, by law they are required to file. I can no longer keep my life on hold, however, waiting for them to file. I finally received acceptance into Western Illinois University’s biology degree program where I can get my life started. I do not want to waste the next few years just waiting and waiting. I must start now. To do so, I need much more help. My financial aid advisor has been of little help to me. She did recommend I fill out a FAFSA with estimated amounts, which I did. I must have been unsuccessful or just too late to get any real help. I was given federal Stafford loans, the total of which doesn’t even cover half of the expenses for school. I have been scholarship hunting for 3 years because I have not given up hope, but I have received nothing. I was told that the grants have been depleted and Perkins loan funds are gone as well. So what do I do? My advisor suggested talking my parents into applying for a parent PLUS loan. Did I mention yet at how unwilling my parents are to cooperate and provide assistance? Well, to get approved for a parents PLUS, you can’t have adverse credit, and if you do, you need someone to endorse your loan. My parents’ parents